Go Back   London Fixed-gear and Single-speed > Classifieds & Shopping


 
Thread Tools
Old 21st November 2007   #1
eeehhhh
Just a quick explanation of the stuff prior to this:

- I want a cheap frame to ride, rather than bring my nice fix from home to uni, and also to possibly play some polo.
- Been browsing eBay
- Saw this: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=280173151162&ssPa geName=STRK:MEWA:IT&ih=018
- Thought it looked a bit, well, fake, but it was the right size and looks not too bad. Could always respray and do something nice with the lugs
- Win for £39
- Seller sends me this:

Quote:
Before payment please note. In the Item description, i noted the campag wording was visable on the rear dropouts, this was the case before the re-spray. So appart from the obviouse campag build quality, tho only way to prove is to sand back the paint on the inner of the rear dropouts.
Ican guarantee this frame, but if you want to withdraw your bid, I understand. I tried to update the description but because auctiion was in last day, could not. Please let me know what you want to do. If you want to sand the frame back to reveal the stamp, I have a spare tin of the paint used to spray so you can touch up.
Ok, now I'm think it's just the dropouts that are Campagnolo, which doesn't really bother me, to be honest. So yeah the point of this post, is a) fake, yeah? and b) can you see anything dodgy with it?
  quote   reply
Registered users don't see adverts. Signup or signin to hide them.
Old 21st November 2007   #2
eeehhhh
And also I just looked at the description, a bit more closely...

Quote:
As for the previouse history, I bought the fram through my local Cycling club, the chp i bought it off is Married to an Ex-Spanish Champion who use the drame on his Trainig Bike.
So the guy he bought it off was married to an ex-spanish champion, and he used it as a training bike. Hmmm, was gay marriage even about over 10 years ago? I don't know.
  quote   reply
Old 21st November 2007   #3
dogsballs
 
dogsballs's Avatar
for £39 want do u expect?! i don#t think it's dodgy.
  quote   reply
Old 21st November 2007   #4
Slack
 
Slack's Avatar
yeah i think it'd be alright if you got it blasted and sprayed, looks a bit like a 5 year old has painted it with a tin of blue hammerite at the moment..
  quote   reply
Old 21st November 2007   #5
tomiskinky
Yeah, blast it and get a nice paint job, it looks pretty poor from the pics?
But it was only £39 - so not too bad?
  quote   reply
Old 21st November 2007   #6
lpg
 
lpg's Avatar
Just becaus hees inglieesh is terribel, doesn't meen he dodgy seller.

just look at Roberto.
  quote   reply
Old 21st November 2007   #7
winston
 
winston's Avatar
I don't think I've ever seen a campag frame, but they do make dropouts, used by many framebuilders, so prob campag dropouts on a non-campag frame.
  quote   reply
Old 21st November 2007   #8
Sam
 
Sam's Avatar
Agree, tomiskinky. £39 for a half decent frame can't be bad!
  quote   reply
Old 21st November 2007   #9
hippy
 
hippy's Avatar
http://www.bikeforums.net/archive/index.php/t-171649.html
  quote   reply
Old 21st November 2007   #10
fatbloke
 
fatbloke's Avatar
Like Hippy's link suggests, Campag never made frames, but do make drop-outs (and I think maybe fork crowns in the past...) Anyway - you definitely HAVEN'T bought a Campag frame, but if whoever did make it used Campy dropouts then it must be pretty decent quality... With workhorse frames like this that have been passed around between club racers and repainted it's almost impossible to guess who the maker is, or the what tubeset was used. And at this price it doesn't really matter - if it arrives and it's light and true and you've bought the right size in the first place, then you have a bargain! Sounds like it genuinely has been used for racing/training, so is unlikely to be mild steel...
  quote   reply
Old 21st November 2007   #11
dicki
if they are campy dropouts then it's gonna be half decent they don't just bung them on any old beater
  quote   reply
Old 21st November 2007   #12
Soweto888
 
Soweto888's Avatar
Senor EBay Seller said: "The chp i bought it off is Married to an Ex-Spanish Champion who use the drame on his Trainig Bike."

Is that meant to be "chap"? There's no point worrying about whether it's Campag or not. You've got a bike that was owned by a gay ex-Spanish cycling champion who's married to a man! How right on is that? :-P
  quote   reply
Old 21st November 2007   #13
eeehhhh
Ok, thanks for your opinions. The point made about the dropouts being made by campag and that they won't just stick them on anything, is good.

39 quid is a bargain, too, just became hesitant.

Quote:
lpg:Just becaus hees inglieesh is terribel, doesn't meen he dodgy seller.

just look at Roberto.
True, true.

Quote:
Slack:yeah i think it'd be alright if you got it blasted and sprayed, looks a bit like a 5 year old has painted it with a tin of blue hammerite at the moment..
Yep, I'll have a look at it when it arrives, but I can't decide what colour scheme, tempted to just go for white/black/chrome. I think a colour round the edge of the lugs would look good.

Then again, I don't want to spend much money on it. The plan is:

stem, bars, seatpost, saddle, cranks, cog - trades/eBay
hubs - some cheap track ones. No way am I putting my Goldtecs/Open Pros on this.
rims - cxp22? I've had them before and they're fine, cheap too.
cranks - sugino xd, maybe, preferably cheaper. Again, eBay!
  quote   reply
Old 21st November 2007   #14
Object
 
Object's Avatar
No chain is the new brakeless!
  quote   reply
Old 21st November 2007   #15
TheBrick(Tommy)
 
TheBrick(Tommy)'s Avatar
Word you can free wheel with no chain too.
  quote   reply
Old 21st November 2007   #16
eeehhhh
I did think about the chain, just didn't think it was worth mentioning it ;P
  quote   reply
Old 21st November 2007   #17
Object
 
Object's Avatar
Sorry, just couldn't resist :]
  quote   reply

Bookmarks Shortcuts
Posts Categories
Registered users don't see adverts. Signup or signin to hide them.


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone win this frame on ebay today? Max General 3 26th November 2007 17:56
eBay bid snipers Conan Classifieds & Shopping 19 20th November 2007 13:07
eBay Titanium Frame sadly Bikes & Bits 27 26th October 2007 08:15
ebay down? edmundane Miscellaneous & Meaningless 3 13th October 2007 17:41
Googly eyes or Fake jewels? Brooklyn Jack Crank General 7 14th April 2007 10:23

Creative Commons License All times are GMT. The time now is 01:31.

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0 (Unauthorized Upgrade)